Portes Mordelaises Project for the city walls of Rennes

Urban palimpsest

The Portes Mordelaises and the walls associated with it until the place Foch and the Vilaine River are the last vestiges of the Roman and medieval enclosure of Rennes. The main purpose of the project we are developing here is a work on the palimpsest of the city of Rennes.

On the way to choose a site, a geography to settle down

The main vestiges of the first medieval enclosure which persist today, occupy precisely this situation of confluence. It is from this situation that arises not only the shape of the wall, but also the positioning of the Portes Mordelaises, as well as a large part of the form of the city of today.

Four planning principles for an overall project

1. A sequence of the public spaces: Towards an urban project 2. A large urban promenade that ensures continuity 3. To restore the scale of the wall and the castle, its historical thickness and its relation to the Vilaine 4. Urban seaming

Sponsor
City of Rennes
Situation
1 Rue des Portes Mordelaises, 35000 Rennes - 48° 6'42.96"N - 1°41'5.74"O
Partners
Project management City of Rennes-Infrastructure Department - Landscape design Atelier de Paysages BRUEL-DELMAR
Budget / Area
3 400 000 € / 8 000 m2
Date
2014 - 2019

Portes Mordelaises Aménagement des abords des remparts à Rennes

Palimpseste urbain

Les Portes Mordelaises et les remparts qui y sont associés jusqu’à la place Foch et la Vilaine sont les derniers vestiges de l’enceinte romaine et médiévale de Rennes. Le propos principal du projet que nous développons ici est un travail sur le palimpseste de la ville de Rennes.

De la manière de choisir un site, une géographie pour s’y installer

Les principaux vestiges de la première enceinte médiévale qui persistent aujourd’hui occupent précisément cette situation de confluence, c’est de cette situation que découle non seulement la forme des remparts, le positionnement des portes Mordelaises ainsi qu’une grande partie de la forme de la ville d’aujourd’hui.

Quatre principes d’aménagement pour un projet d’ensemble

1.Enchaînement des espaces publics 2.Une grande promenade urbaine qui assure la continuité 3.Restituer l’échelle de la muraille et du châtelet, l’épaisseur historique et le rapport à la Vilaine 4. Couture urbaine

Commanditaire
Ville de Rennes
Situation
1 Rue des Portes Mordelaises, 35000 Rennes - 48° 6'42.96"N - 1°41'5.74"O
Partenaires
Maitrise d’œuvre Ville Rennes-Direction de infrastructure -Paysagiste conseil Atelier de Paysages BRUEL-DELMAR
Budget / Surface
3 400 000 € / 8 000 m2
Date
2014 - 2019