Doulon-Gohards Agro-district in Nantes

The re-conquest of former gardening territories on the edge of river Loire leads towards the creation of a new 'agro-district' mixing urban farming and three thousand new housing units.

Relief and risk of flooding; Transforming environmental constraints into advantages

A park along the river Loire

Upon 180 hectares, 100 are classified as naturel area. In relationship with the new agrodistrict, the lands along the railway lines and the river Loire, offer the opportunity to create a recreation and environmental discovery area. Pedestrian and bike trails guide uses towards the meadows, and nature protected area 'Natura 2000'. East to west connections encourage public transportation and establish the new neighborhood as being a part of Nantes's metropolis development scheme.

The design of the park leans the new agrodistrict to water-lands and increases soft mobility.

A new relationship between city and agriculture

Railway work and gardens'inheritance has defined the 180 acres of Doulon-Gohards territory, located in Nantes East. 2000 new housings will be implemented on this Loire's hill-side, in order to enhance Doulon's attractiveness.

The design of the future neighborhood reveals the existing site qualities and characteristics, binding an agricultural activity to the housing project.

The "fertile city" urban model relies on the inherited agricultural and horticultural land structure, and creates an interaction between urban realm and cultivation techniques.

Last cultivated field at Bois des Anses farm

Recovering vegetable gardenning heritage

The last cultivated parcels of extensive cultivation have been abandoned leaving as an heritage a terroir to exploit.

Some vegetable gardens already exist on the site

Old farms are actually abandoned. The project plans to take advantage of this heritage to develop different hubs with new associations around agriculture

One of the former farms

We imagine all kind of associations around the old farms with news housing units and local food production. Lots of ideas are actually under study such as organic vegetable cultivation, citizen's association farm or educational farm. First contacts with young farmers are ongoing.

Cultivatioconditions, SOIL is a value for urban planning

Agricultural and gardening plots, as well as back-gardens and grazing lands are defined as cultivated grounds where the living and variant soil is part of urban design topic. The sol has been studied to understand and express it as a living complex biosystem able to take part in the future agro-urban scheme.

Fertile city

Various operational tools

Amongst the diversity of designed urban forms, voluntarily turned towards pedestrians blocks, shared spaces ; 7% of the real estate goals will be offered to self promoting operation, thus maintaining urban flexibility, and civilian involvement.

NQG - Gohards small valley

 

Dialog workshops 

Dialog workshops and city walks have been organized to share with the inhabitants of the neighborhood, values to build together this project.

The Project gazette

NQG - Project gazette N°1

NQG - Project gazette N°2

NQG - Project gazette N°3

Taking account of the territory, in its historical dimension, its ecology and especially the different types of soil quality, the water resources we steel can see through numerous wells and water towers associated to the old farms, we developed an urban sustainable urban concept. This urban agriculture sharing territory into vegetable production and building situations propose to increase local production but also built a common life and social cohesion.

Sponsor
Nantes Métropole Aménagement
Situation
Rue de la Papotière, Nantes - 47°14'23.00"N - 1°29'51.57"O
Partners
INSITU A&E, urbaniste - Groupe étude Nicolet, VRD
Area
180 ha
Date
2012 - 2016

Agro-quartier Doulon-Gohards à Nantes

UNE ETUDE PRE OPERATIONNELLE DANS NANTES INTRA-MUROS

La reconquête d'anciens territoires maraîchers en bord de Loire vers un nouvel 'agro-quartier' mêlant agriculture urbaine et trois milles nouveaux logements. 

 

Relief et risque d'inondation; Faire des contraintes environnementales des atouts pour le projet

Un parc ligérien

Sur 180 hectares, 100 sont classés en 'zone naturelle'. En relation avec le nouvel agroquartier, les terrains longeant la voie ferrée et la Loire offrent l'opportunité d'un espace de détente et de découverte environnementale. Le maillage dense des circulations douces oriente les usages vers l'espace 'Natura 2.000' de la prairie de Mauves. Les liaisons Est-Ouest favorisent les transports en commun et inscrivent le nouveau quartier dans le schéma de développement urbain de la Métropole Nantaise.

Le dessin du parc ligérien permet d'adosser le quartier au vaste territoire qu'est celui de l'eau. Le parc s'étend à l'ouest  jusqu'à la Petite Amazonie et à l'est, au-delà du périphérique et des voies ferrées dans une inscription autour de l'ancien étier du fleuve.

Un nouveau rapport Ville-Agriculture

Le territoire Doulon-Gohards, marqué par un héritage maraîcher et cheminot, couvre au total 180 ha à l'Est de Nantes. 2000 logements vont occuper le coteau de Loire et conforter la centralité du Vieux-Doulon.

Le dessin du futur quartier révèle la qualité et le caractère des existants, la géographie et l'histoire des lieux en associant une activité agricole professionnelle au projet.

Ce modèle urbain de "ville fertile" s'appuie sur la structure agricole et horticole héritée et fait rentrer en interaction constructions urbaines et pratiques culturales.

Dernière parcelle cultivée à la ferme du Bois des Anses

A la reconquête d'un héritage maraîcher

Les dernières parcelles de maraîchage extensif ont été abandonnées laissant comme héritage un terroir à exploiter.

Jardins familiaux du Grand Blottereau

Le projet propose de développer 4 pôles sur la base de l'héritage des anciennes fermes proposant de nouvelles associations autour de l'agriculture.

Ancienne tenue maraîchère

Plusieurs possibilités d'associations des anciennes fermes aux logements neufs et à une activité agricole sont à l'étude . Elles envisagent différentes formes telles qu'une ferme urbaine maraîchère ou une ferme citoyenne associative et pédagogique. De premiers contacts avec de jeunes agriculteurs sont en cours. 

Des façons culturales; le SOL comme valeur du projet urbain

Considérant comme cultivées les parcelles agricoles et maraîchères, mais également les jardins, les pâtures, ...  le projet fait un état d'un sol vivant et variant, qui, associé aux différentes formes d'habiter, participe à la richesse du dessin urbain. Une étude microbiologique des sols a été engagée afin de reconnaitre et mesurer cette richesse et sa capacité à orienter des choix de projet.

La ville fertile

Des outils opérationnels variés

Parmi les formes urbaines proposées et volontairement orientées vers des îlots piétonniers et faisant une large place aux espaces partagés, 7% des objectifs environ pourront être offerts à des opérations d'auto-promotion, assurant ainsi une souplesse dans la forme urbaine et une implication citoyenne.

NQG - Vallon des Gohards

 

La concertation est lancée depuis le 26 Juin 2013

Elle prend la forme de réunions, publiques, ateliers, et promenades urbains afin de partager les valeurs qui construiront le projet de demain.

Le journal de Projet

NQG- Journal de Projet N°1

NQG - Journal de Projet N°2

NQG - Journal de Projet N°3

La prise en compte du territoire, de son histoire, de ses qualités de sols, mais aussi de la ressource en eau exprimée par les puits et les réservoirs qui accompagnent les fermes, nous conduit vers un projet mettant en avant les singularités du site. Le choix de mettre en forme sur ce territoire une nouvelle forme d'agriculture associée à l'urbanisation permet d'imaginer un nouveau mode de vie 'agro-urbain' et une capacité du 'vivre ensemble' faisant de cette mixité un réel moteur de cohésion sociale.

Commanditaire
Nantes Métropole Aménagement
Situation
Rue de la Papotière, Nantes - 47°14'23.00"N - 1°29'51.57"O
Partenaires
INSITU A&E, urbaniste - Groupe étude Nicolet, VRD
Surface
180 ha
Date
2012 - 2016